The Executive Council of Alberta in January 1977

Premier and President of the Executive Council, Hon. Peter Lougheed

Deputy Premier and Minister of

- Transportation, Hon. Hugh M. Horner
- Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, Hon. Donald R. Getty
- Minister of Federal and Intergovernmental Affairs and Government House Leader, Hon. Louis D. Hyndman
- Minister of Hospitals and Medical Care, Hon. Gordon T.W. Miniely
- Provincial Treasurer, Hon. C. Mervin Leitch

Minister of Labour, Hon. Neil S. Crawford

Minister of Advanced Education and Manpower, Hon. Bert Hohol

- Minister of Housing and Public Works, Hon. William J. Yurko
- Minister of Environment, Hon. David J. Russell

Attorney General, Hon. James L. Foster

Solicitor General, Hon. Roy A. Farran

Minister of Utilities and Telephones, Hon. Allan A. Warrack

- Minister of Government Services, also responsible for Culture, Hon. Horst A. Schmid
- Minister of Social Services and Community Health, Hon. Helen Hunley

Minister of Business Development and Tourism, Hon. Robert W. Dowling

Minister of Recreation, Parks and Wildlife, Hon. J.A. Adair

- Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Dick Johnston
- Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, Hon. Graham Harle
- Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Marvin Moore
- Minister of Education, Hon. Julian Koziac
- Minister without portfolio (Native Affairs), Hon. Robert Bogle

Minister without portfolio, Hon. Stu McCrae

Associate Minister for Energy and Natural Resources in charge of Public Lands and Minister without portfolio, Hon. Dallas Schmidt.

British Columbia

The government of British Columbia consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. On March 19, 1973 the Honourable Walter Stewart Owen took office as the Lieutenant Governor. The Legislative Assembly has 55 members who are elected for a term not to exceed five years. As a result of the December 11, 1975 election, 34 Social Credit members, 19 New Democrats, one Liberal and one Progressive Conservative were elected to the Assembly.

Each member of the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly receives an annual allowance of \$16,000 and an annual expense allowance of \$8,000. In addition, the Premier is paid an annual salary of \$28,000, each Cabinet Minister (with portfolio) \$24,000 and each member of the Executive Council without portfolio \$21,000. The Leader of the Opposition and the Speaker receive special expense allowances of \$19,000; the Deputy Speaker and the Leader of a recognized political party, \$8,500. These salaries and expense allowances were reduced by 10% for the period April 1, 1976 to March 31, 1977.

The Executive Council of British Columbia in January 1977

Premier, President of the Council, Hon.

William R. Bennett

Provincial Secretary, Deputy Premier and Minister of Travel Industry, Hon. Grace M. McCarthy

Minister of Finance, Hon. Evan Wolfe

Attorney General, Hon. Garde B. Gardom

Minister of Health, Hon. Robert H.

- McClelland
- Minister of Human Resources, Hon. William N. Vander Zalm
- Minister of Agriculture, Hon. James J. Hewitt
- Minister of Economic Development, Hon. Donald M. Phillips
- Minister of Labour, Hon. L. Allan Williams

Minister of Mines and Petroleum

Resources, Hon. James R. Chabot

- Minister of Forests, Hon. Thomas M. Waterland
- Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Hon. Hugh A. Curtis
- Minister of Education, Hon. Pat L. McGeer
- Minister of Environment, Hon. James A. Nielsen
- Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, Hon. Kenneth Rafe Mair
- Minister of Energy, Transport and Communication, Hon. John (Jack) Davis
- Minister of Highways and Public Works, Hon. Alex V. Fraser
- Minister of Recreation and Conservation, Hon. Robert Samuel Bawlf.

3.3.1.10